Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believethat they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some say that university students should not be forced to choose academic subjects in high-level education, while others argue that they should take subjects that are useful for their futures. This essay will argue that although pursuing a degree in science and technology gives more career opportunities, taking a major in what students like gives them a sense of satisfaction. On the one hand, it is true that graduating in science-related subjects, information technology, and engineering opens prestigious job titles with high wages. Also, it provides more job opportunities. For instance, companies like Microsoft and Google search for highly qualified employees to join their companies, they pay high amounts of salary to workers. Thus, it may lead to competition between the applicants, which may lead to less access to jobs. Increasing competition among applicants may result in fewer job positions, optimally leading to an increase in unemployment. On the other hand, despite having high-paying jobs, workers may not be satisfied with their workplace. This is because, if the company pays a good amount of money for their work, it comes with great responsibilities. A person failing to maintain a work-life balance may lead to some physical and mental illnesses. For example, research done in a company, Daraz, shows that 5 out of 10 employees are not satisfied with their jobs. Thus, no one should be forced to do anything. They should be left free; pursuing one's interests shows good outcomes. In conclusion, graduating in highly popular subjects may give high career opportunities, but that would not give a person a sense of fulfilment or satisfaction.