Luck plays essential part in being successful/unsuccessful. Do you agree or disagree?

Luck may play a pivotal role when people are moving forward to a successful path or fortune destination.Sometimes, it is the same as children playing video games – winners perhaps rely on luck and will win the last victory. To some extent, I partially agree with that statement. On the one hand, I agree with the point that sometimes luck gives people chances against failure with an expedition. To illustrate, one day, one of my friends had an interview with more than forty job applicants, somehow beyond his imagination. However, when he came to the office to be interviewed, the earthquake occurred. Due to his cleverness and awareness to remind the people on the spot to follow his steps to be safe. The manager who interviewed him acclaimed him for the general response to handle the emergency. He got the job, unbelievably. It turns out that luck led him to win over the other job searchers without any comparison of skills or qualifications/ requirements asking to be qualified. Consequently, he is the lasting winner in this event. Therefore, I truly believe sometimes people can achieve positive results because of luck. On the other hand,I disagree that people should pay attention to luck in order to accomplish their goals, and not dedicate their time and efforts to make it happen. For instance, one of my neighbours was talented in music when he was a little kid. His parents and relatives decided not to let him learn at school because of his greater diligence and cleverness compared to other children at his age. He lost the opportunity to receive professional training in music. Yet he later was not regarded as the smartest one anymore because he relied too much on natural gifts, but he had no devotion to learning objects, which obviously was not enough. He eventually became a normal child. Owing to this story, I am negative that people rely heavily on their intelligent brains instead of dedicating their hearts and hard work to achieve victory. To conclude, winning or competing with some other competitors may depend on luck, effort, and dedication. In addition, luck covers an area with a smaller population, and it is hard to say that someone who spends most of his time and devotion will absolutely get the victory ticket. People should make an effort for the purpose of winning, but not just pray for luck. Thus, I partially agree with the statement.