People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion

Many individuals believe that government should put in place policies to protect the environment, one of them is raising the cost of fuel for vehicles. In my opinion, this action can only solve a limited part of the environmental problems but, at the same time, it comes along with several drawbacks. Those in support of raising petrol prices argue that it contributes to mitigating air pollution by indirectly cutting down harmful emissions released by the burning of fossil fuel to power motor vehicles. To begin with, drivers will deliberately find ways of reducing their fuel consumed in response to the added expense. In fact, some simple solutions such as carpooling, driving with a steady and average speed or avoiding traffic jams can help gain fuel savings. In addition, the high cost of petrol will promote the use of sustainable transportation alternatives which are environmentally friendly. Indeed, more people will commute by public transport, bicycle or even by foot to avoid paying a great deal of money for fossil fuel and this, at the same time, can be a part of environmental conservation. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that the rise in fuel costs will cause more harm than good. Firstly, this change could impose financial strain on people who strongly rely on private vehicles. In Vietnam, for instance, the motorcycle is irreplaceable because it best suits the narrow road which is inaccessible for public transport, so elevated fuel prices will be a heavy burden on low-income citizens. Secondly, this policy can increase the cost of transporting goods and services, and as a result, put pressure on inflationary. In long term, the economy will be at risk of recession since the overall rate of price will be accelerating while the average income remains unchanged. In conclusion, although a rise in petrol prices can tackle a small part of the environmental issues, the government have to give careful considerations to its adoption because of the severe implications it can have on the economy.