Education and health care should be funded by the government and free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Education and health care are two essential aspects of every human life. Without proper education and a good health care system, no nation can sustain, let alone progress ahead. Considering its significance, some people express their opinion that it is the responsibility of the government to ensure quality education and health service to its citizens. I strongly agree with this viewpoint. To commence with, according to the “National Sample” survey of India in 2019, people had to spend more than 35 per cent of their wages on health care and schooling. In a developing country, it is quite hard for citizens to manage it all on their own, especially since education and treatment are getting expensive every year. So, these should be free as poor people cannot afford higher education and a good health care system. Moreover, if the government provides free education, the literacy rate will surely increase and the citizens would contribute far better to the overall development of the country. So, in this way, the economy of that country will flourish day by day. Besides, another recent survey in India shows that almost 38% of people die every year without proper treatment because they can not afford expensive medical services. Since healthy citizens are the pillar of a prosperous nation, the government should intervene and make efforts to ensure proper healthcare for all. This way the country would develop faster while citizens would not be deprived of their basic rights. For instance, many countries, that are now considered developed, has had free medical care for all citizens and that boosted up their national development over the last few decades.