As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Amidst the surge of technological advancement, it is argued that people have started to shift their way of reading news from the newspapers to the Internet. This essay agrees with this statement because the web allows readers to seek news from the past, and simply, it is easier to read because it is available with just a grasp of a hand. The internet offers a wide range of news which gives more freedom to the readers. It can keep digital records of news from any year, any place, and any source, whereas newspapers are limited to their published dates and the media who produced them. For example, in this election period in Indonesia, the internet has been very useful for the citizens to conduct due diligence on the presidential and legislative candidates. Furthermore, the internet has also proven to help the readers seek what is going on in the world because of its simplicity in terms of space. A variety of news are available through their smartphones, while newspapers took a lot of space with their huge-sized papers, and they are not handy at all. For instance, many youths are spotted reading news through their cellphones when they are on public transport such as buses or trains. In conclusion, this essay agrees that numerous readers nowadays prefer reading articles through the internet rather than the newspapers because the internet has no boundaries towards the source of media, time of events, and places of tragedy. Moreover, it also has a significant advantage when it comes to space, where a lot of news is available with just a click on a phone, whilst newspapers rely heavily on large-sized papers.