Some children spent hours every day on their smartphones. Why this is the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, smartphones are a ubiquitous part of our daily lives and children spend most of their time on smartphones. Some people are of the opinion that this is a positive development while others believe that there are some drawbacks. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and examine the benefits and drawbacks. It is certainly true that the main reason for children to spend many hours on their smartphones is rapidly growing technology and the trend for having a smartphone among certain age groups. In addition to that, various mobile games and social media have a huge effect in this case. One of the first benefits, it is easy to access information whenever and wherever they need it through their smartphones, and this could be beneficial for educational purposes. In addition, some online games they play could broaden their imagination and creativity. And these online games can be considered as a new way of socialization. Nevertheless, there are many drawbacks to the usage of smartphones among children. First and foremost, this situation causes a lack of activity and leads to some serious health problems such as obesity. Many children eat while they are watching videos or playing games on their smartphones so this may be the reason for growing obesity problems at young ages. Moreover, they are not socializing with their friends and families. Their communication skills getting worse. When parents take their smartphones they can’t find anything to talk to each other and this may cause serious problems in their future careers since soft skills are becoming more important in college and job applications. Furthermore, their bond with family members getting weaker since they spend most of their time on smartphones. They don’t share anything with their parents. In conclusion, although this has both positive and negative impacts on children, I would argue that, negative impacts outweigh the benefits and spending many hours on smartphones can be considered as a negative development for children.