Today more and more tourists are visiting places where the conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara deserts or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the course of the last decades, the number of holidaymakers travelling to destinations with extreme conditions, like deserts or poles, has increased significantly. Although this trend creates an array of merits for both the tourists and the local residents, its negative side effects on the environment and the risks associated with health issues, cannot be neglected. Initially, the tourism industry offers a wide range of benefits. An overt advantage of attracting tourists to places where the conditions are difficult is, its direct impact on that region's economic climate. Since tourism creates more job opportunities and improves residents’ economic status, society can live a fuller life. As a tangible example, thanks to tourists and their needs, after tourists flocked to Hugo Tribe in South Africa in 2023, many hotels and restaurants were opened and more than 3000 men were hired, and since then the standard of living has significantly improved in this community. Moreover, in such adventures, visitors not only gain information about natural habitats but also become familiar with the local culture of that area. Nevertheless, travelling to places that are not regarded as tourist destinations may trigger some challenges. Firstly, more travelling means more pollution. If the number of flights to these places increases, the quality of air will reduce, simultaneously. Secondly, visiting these harsh climates can be dangerous and visitors with inadequate knowledge or professional equipment, may be injured severely. For instance, last year a group of American tourists were lost in the Loot Desert due to the lack of basic devices such as extra batteries and a compass. In summary, visiting harsh climates has become more popular than ever before. While there are some risks behind travelling to places such as the Antarctic and Sahara deserts, it has some notable benefits like economic growth and personal experiences.