A great number of people think that those with university education should get higher pay that those without, for they believe that the former have sweated and sacrificed more. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

A substantial number of people argue that those who have tertiary education should earn more than those who have not because they have sacrificed more time, money and have done really hard work. From my point of view, those with the diploma should be well-paid due to the efforts they have made. However, some people could have gone through a lot of trouble in order to get a higher-paid job without having university education. On the one hand, a good reason to make higher salaries for people with tertiary education is that they must have been studying for a long period of time to get the diploma. Whereas people without it, simply tried to avoid spending a couple of years in the university. On the grounds that they often think that getting a degree is not worth it and it is much easier to make money even without it. In addition, students with higher education spent a great deal of money on it. Therefore, their contribution can not be ignored and has to be paid back by the government in the future. On the other hand, people without tertiary education could have overcome many obstacles in order to earn more. It often happens that gifted, but underprivileged young men and women can not afford university education, but they wish they could. Thus, those people try their best to achieve something without it. The efforts they have made have to be rewarded by a good salary, at least. Another point to consider is that their knowledge and experience in the field can be much better than those with tertiary education. This is owing to the practical skills which they possess and former university students usually do not due to the academic way of teaching there. To conclude, I am of the opinion that people both with tertiary education and without should earn equally. Their salary should depend on the knowledge and ability to do the work properly.