University education is expensive, and not everyone can have university degree. Some people think that university should be free for everyone. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, to get a university degree, students have to pay costly tuition fees. Not all of them can afford it, and, as a result, a question arises whether education ought to be free for everyone or not. In my opinion, making studying completely free will not fix the problem, as there are multiple drawbacks to this approach. Firstly, although the fees may seem unreasonably high, there is, in fact, a reason for it. In other words, to operate, universities need a reliable source of income, which is provided by students. A lack of finances can mean that universities will have to adjust their budgets, which will inevitably lead to a loss in educational quality. Some might argue that governments can attempt to help finance universities, however, states alone can not cover all of the spending, which is why fees are so necessary. Secondly, if all universities are made free, they will, likely, not be able to keep up with the increased demand for a university degree. Simply put, the competition in most higher educational institutions is fierce now. For example, Harvard's acceptance rate is only 4%, while for less prestigious universities it is around 15%. Therefore. removing fees will quickly make universities run out of vacant spots, making it virtually impossible for average students to even get a chance to enrol. Lastly, the primary function of some universities is to indicate the students’ status after graduation, nonetheless, making them free will completely get rid of that feature. For instance, some prestigious law firms only hire people who graduated from Oxford as a way of ensuring that an applicant has a wealthy background. Thus, with education no longer tied to financial stability, all of that will become meaningless. To sum up, although making universities free might sound appealing, the drawbacks that the decision will bring about, make this approach highly ineffective.