Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Write at least 250 words.

With the advent of technology and a plethora of information available on the internet have made people self-reliant. Most of the individuals are becoming dependent on these technological advancements for solving their heatlh problems insted of paying a visit to their concerned physician. I opine that it is a negative growth and increasing cases of drug toxicity and antibiotic resistance, will prove this. To begin with, the majority of the populace rely upon search engines like google to be their free doctor. Not being a medical professional only allows them to know some symptoms of the condition rather than the complete daignosis. Thus, they take medicines for the same, as a result, the cases of drug toxicity are on a rise. For instance, 7 out 10 individuals who treat themselves without consulting any general practitioner suffers from organ faliures failure mainly kidney and liver. Furthermore, every medication prescribed by the physician has to be followed for a specific time period and before stopping it. Inspite of spreading awareness by numerous campaigns amongst the individuals, they still rely on saving the check-up fees and self-medicating themselves. Hence, the cases of antibiotic resistance are on the all time high, making simple and easily treatable diseases like cold and flu hard to manage. Consequently, these people have to be hospitalised for the same. To illustrate, more than 50 per cent of the general wards are filled with non-responding to medications cases due to the illegitimate abuse of pharmaceutical products. To sum up, more and more individuals are going to self-treat themselves, which will increase their problems in the coming times rather than solving it. It's the person's responsibility to be aware of the consquences that come along with this action and ought to consult their physician for any illness they suffer from.