Topic: New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages

Due to advancements in technology, kids have modified their way of spending spare time. There are both pros and cons of this situation. If asked, the demerits of this issue surpass the merits. My inclination is discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. Initiating with the advantages, the most significant one is that students are able to utilise their free time to learn new skills with the help of recent technologies. This is because everything is available online and pupils can enroll in any course they want without leaving home. For example, a mobile application named Udemy teaches 50 different languages and Indian students are using it a lot to improve their linguistic abilities. On a paradoxical side, the younger generation is forgetting the values of old traditional games. The reason is, that they tend to choose digital games rather than go outside and play. As a result, a few old games are disappearing which used to be played on the playgrounds by kids. Another major drawback which is related to the former is that children are becoming anxious and violent because those games contain violent and action visuals which can influence the child's vulnerable mind and thought process. For instance, an online game called Shark was reported to increase violence in school-going kids as the characters of that game were aggressive and wild. To conclude, although children can use their leisure time by being more productive about their learning skills, obstacles like violent behaviour and the extinction of traditional games prevail over the benefits.