Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

In many parts of the world, there is a growing focus on building houses, and these developments often come at the expense of a city’s natural habitat, such as parks and farmlands. While this can help address housing shortages and revitalize areas, the loss of green zones in cities can negatively affect the surroundings and people’s mental well-being. Therefore, it is a negative improvement overall. The shortage of housing is one of the biggest problems facing many cities today. Turning underutilized places and farmland into apartment blocks can help meet the increasing demand for housing, especially in densely populated areas. The creation of housing can alleviate the housing crises not only by directly offering accommodation to the public who are willing to buy one but also by increasing the availability of options, which can lead to more affordable housing prices in an area, allowing society from low-income backgrounds to get on the properties. This is because with these usually come many more amenities, including shopping malls, playgrounds, recreational facilities, and parking areas. These improvements generally contribute to a higher quality of life. By contrast, in many towns, residents often complain about the lack of such opportunities, having to commute to access them in another part of the city. Moreover, the lack or disappearance of green spots can have less obvious but severe effects on people. City life has long been associated with increased stress levels, anxiety, and depression in the population and having access to squares and gardens can serve as a perfect counterbalance. If people are deprived of these places due to urbanization, this can have a huge impact on folk’s mental well-being. In conclusion, there are potential benefits to the construction of housing at the cost of parks and farmlands, such as the mitigation of housing problems and improved quality of life. That said, the negative consequences of such an expansion are more significant, considering its impact on the climate and people’s mental health. Therefore, urban designers should not disregard the importance of green zones in cities.