Many teenagers now have their own Smartphones. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In this day and age, technological advancement has been growing all over the world. Many people now have smartphones, and so are teenagers. This phenomenon leads to pros and cons in society, and this essay will explain both the advantages and disadvantages of this topic. To begin with, teenagers can gain two advantages by owning phone devices, which are improving their educational skills and social skills. Firstly, teenagers at school can properly access additional materials by browsing the relevant academic sources on the internet. For instance, pupils can search the visualization of atomic theory by using virtual reality (VR) features for a deep understanding of chemistry subject. Secondly, the students can easily connect and relate with others who have the same interests or hobbies via social media, either from their schools or another school. These factors will enhance their communication skills in their teenage, as well as enlarge their level of digital skills that can benefit them in the future. Despite all the instant benefits associated with smartphone usage, the distractions on students’ concentration and learning activity, as well as the decline in pupils’ social ability are some of the drawbacks. If teenagers bring their gadgets to school, they may use their phones to do unrelated academic activities, such as playing virtual games or watching videos for entertainment. As a consequence, the students may get distracted and lose concentration to study and absorb academic materials at school, which has a high impact on students’ performances. Moreover, the overuse of smartphones will discourage teenagers ’ social skills due to teenagers prioritizing online meetings rather than socialising with their peers in real life. Finally, these disadvantages will impact pupils’ performance as well as teenagers ’ interpersonal skills. To sum up, smartphone ownership by teenagers has both advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, we should raise awareness to optimise the positive impact of using smartphones as well as avoid the adverse impact of gadgets overused.