Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all. Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the global tendency among people throughout the countries with the highest level of development is procreating fewer offsprings than in previous times, or not at all. This essay will consider what are the key reasons for this life’s approach and whether it is a good trend or not. First of all, several main causes lead to this change of visions over the time. One of these is that many young people tend to focus on their self-improvement, which implies investing various resources, especially financial and time resources, for their studies, and then for developing a prosperous career. Thus, they would rather prioritize their future plans, in terms of gaining experience in various fields, attending training courses, developing hard and soft skills, that would ensure a safe future rather than to take care of 2-3 children. Secondly, in our era of globalization and exorbitant prices, it is a real challenge for parents to give birth to several children, raise them and offer them everything is necessary for a harmonious upbringing. For instance, my best friend argues that she and her husband decided not to have the second child until they will not be able to increase their revenues. Further, the answer to the question whether this is a positive or negative trend depends only on the couple’s vision upon this issue, which should not be judged. Nevertheless, I believe that procreating is essential for a family’s wellbeing, as well as for a nation’s good functioning. Moreover, recently I read an article where a growing body of research argues that it is crucial for parents to give birth at an optimal age, up to 40 years and not later, in order to strengthen partners’ connections and their ambition to build up a future together. Besides that, the decision not to have children is often associated with the partners’ desire to enjoy a carefree life, even if many consider that this approach is selfish. In conclusion, I opine that there are several reasons for individuals who choose to have fewer children or none at all. The final decision in this case will depend entirely on the couple’s visions and future plans.