Nowadays parents in many countries give their children more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is observed that these days, most parents are lenient. In connection with this view, children all over the world have been given more freedom compared to the past. I endorse this perspective due to the potential positive consequences it poses. First and foremost, this kind of parenting style can enhance children ’s living satisfaction and emotional stability since parents respect their personal aptitude instead of suppressing or confining them. For example, if the parents apply only monotonous regulating standards, such as a good school grade in textbook-based study, like math and science, their children could feel cramped and unhappy. On the other hand, if parents allow the children to do their favorite activities, children can be more creative and flexible people. Aside from that they can find out their own natural affinity over the interests, experiencing various opportunities which they choose. Another reason commonly put forward is that parents can teach children independence and responsibility followed by freedom of choice. To be more specific, children can acquire independence by self-decision-making, with their freedom guaranteed. At the same time, they can learn how to fulfil their duties, not counting on their parents. For instance, if children choose to go to bed late at night, they have to be responsible for their behaviour the following morning and go to school on time. Likewise, children can grow up as a less reliant person who can substantially redress their own problems. In a nutshell, though some people still cling to maintain overall restraint to their children, giving freedom is more beneficial to children.