Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

There are several opinions about the effect of current technology. While some people think that technological advancements created wide gaps between people, I believe that technology has a great impact on our means of communication and travel that it bridges geographical distances. The recent technology boosted various lifestyle changes. The advancements particularly in communication technology have changed the way people interact with each other. For instance, with the emergence of several social media platforms, people of varying ages, from different walks of life are preoccupied with entertainment found in smartphone applications. The sight of a family having dinner together but not having a single conversation is not rare these days. Most of them are busy tending to their phones, ignoring each other. Although some negative impacts of modernization are undeniable, it still has contributed numerous benefits to society as a whole. Communication across the globe has never been so convenient, thanks to the help of international satellites that were invented. People from different points of the earth can easily communicate by messaging, calls, and even video communications through the power of the internet. For migrant workers, this helped a lot in battling family homesickness. Because of the gadgets and communication devices, gone are the days or months of waiting for letters from home, and now, their families are just one call away. Economically speaking, technology has always been a major factor in globalization. Goods and services are linked worldwide thus giving way to a more united economic goal beyond borders. In conclusion, the modern technologies that we experience today have greatly influenced our social lives. Some may think that it separates us from each other but I would argue that it brings us to an unimaginable closeness than ever before.