In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Our planet is witnessing a growing life-expectancy pattern among all nationalities in the twenty-first century. Some advocate that this trend will bring about challenges for the authorities, however, others argue that this constitutes an opprtunity for the society. This essay will discuss both pitfalls and upsides as well as the reasons why I claim that its merits dwarf the drawbacks. On the one hand, having a significant proportion of ageing population will introduce unwanted calamities. Firstly, this phenomenon will put a tremendous pressure on the healthcare system. If the hospital staff including specialists and practitioners are overwhelmed with patients then they will not be able to function with full mental and physical capacity, for example. Moreover, this will have severe ramifications for the social security fund. This will result in fast-paced draining of resources of the fund owing to a vast spectrum of elderly who are benefiting from the fund. On the other hand, prudent and highly experienced older generation comprises several auspicious advantages. They will make perfect advisors for the heedless younger generation. If yougsters seek and apply the recommendations of elderly they will guarantee a brigher and more prosperous future for themselves, for instance. Furthermore, the grandparents constitute a cherished source of pride for the nation. They are not only admirable breathing heritages but also treasured figures that society ought to look up. In conclusion, although some argue that the elderly may poses immense risks on healthcare as well as social security, others are of the opinion that they are national heritages and a source of being proud. Nevertheless, there are both downsides and benefits, material disadvantages are infinitesimal when compared to the considerable spritual positive points which give the life its true meaning.