People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

It has become an increasing trend for some first-time criminals to revert to crimes after they are released from prison, largely influenced by the lack of understanding of right and wrong and financial conditions. In my opinion, actions are needed to help them out from the government. To begin with, the reason why some repeated crimes happen is due to an inherent unawareness of what they did is unacceptable, even after being imprisoned. In other words, education helps them distinguish right from wrong and recognize the implications brought by their behaviour are missed during the sentence. In addition, the financial burden of these people also plays a significant role in making them back to break the law. This is particularly the case when they face discrimination and distrust in the job market with a criminal record. For instance, the majority of employers will hire law -abiding citizens rather than previous criminals, avoiding being in trouble in the future. Consequently, the financial pressure may amplify the criminal tendency of these people, who may come from unprivileged families and are not well educated. While rehabilitation is hard to achieve in the form of punishment, education in the early stage and severe sentences in the law can be regarded as effective ways to curb crime. On the one hand, the impact of early education, such as primary school and middle school, is given significant importance in shaping one's worldview. That is to say, if students are told to obey the law at an early age, there will be less possibility for them to commit a crime after they reach adulthood. On the other hand, another method to consider is to place severe punishment on the behaviour against the law, deterring potential criminals from putting their ideas into practice. In conclusion, first-time offenders often commit crimes continually, owing to the difficulty in finding a job and the corresponding financial pressure. Measures from the government need to be taken to prevent crimes by leveraging both education and law.