Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? What are the problems?

There is no doubt that the tourism industry is a potential sector to invest in in most developing countries. The main factors contributing to this progress are the prospective job opportunities and the globalization of cultural-cross awareness. The development of tourism is likely to increase the rate of crime and offence and the destruction of the natural environment. Regarding the root cause of exploiting the advantage of tourism, the domestic annual profit from this sector has an enormous contribution to economic advancement. Tourism generates an abundance of job opportunities in a wide range from hotel staff, tour guides, and interpreters to transportation workers. For instance, the extension of travelling may create more international firms and jobs for indigenous presidents, especially in the sector of international business and services. Furthermore, the stimulation of the global tourism industry brings about multiple cultural adaptations, the local people can broaden their cultural horizons and experience an abundance of living styles. This advantage is derived from the demand for cultural understanding of tourists when they travel to another region. Native people and travellers can construct relationships by learning from each other about the tolerance between distinct cultures. In terms of society, the concentration on promoting the tourism industry can bring about an increase in social crimes. It is undisputed that the prosperous appearance of foreigners attracts the offender to commit a crime as a way to make a living or just satisfy their greed. In addition, tourists have a huge responsibility to deteriorate the ecology. Furthermore, they can pose a threat to the environment due to their littering behaviour and unconscious actions, which destroy the heritage site or a building, such as tapping the wall or throwing rocks. As a result, there will be the degradation of the tourism industry or even catastrophic natural disasters due to the destruction of the environment and the loss of natural revenues. In conclusion, although the tourism industry is planned to expand with the purpose of enriching the national economy and residential finance, the government should consider more about the effect of this sector or take more steps to protect the national natural resources from the unconscious actions of tourists.