Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are different opinions about whether people should demolish old buildings to give way to contemporary building designs or to keep conserving and protecting them. In my opinion, old buildings should be protected as they represent our past way of life. The modern architectural designs that people enjoy today truly signify beauty. For instance, the intricate details and the complex materials of the skyscrapers in Dubai are truly remarkable. Aside from that, houses nowadays are built with the strength to stand resilient against natural disasters such as earthquakes. Indeed, the society has come far from the traditional buildings that used to be significant in the society. However, we cannot disregard the relevance and valuable contribution of the old structures that are still present today. They withstand the test of time and have witnessed memorial events that constitute the society we have now. One major benefit of these decades-old building is that it represents our cultural identity and originality. Moreover, in some areas, old buildings serve as educational portals that allow people to feel the life of the past. One example of this is the stone houses of Filipino heroes, many students visit the place to see where Filipino fighters used to gather to plan battles against foreign rulers. By preserving such historical sites, future generations can also enjoy and learn about the things we present people experienced. Aside from that, old buildings and houses can become tourist spots, thus, employment opportunities may open for the local people in the community. In conclusion, modern buildings are good evidence of societal development. However, we should never consider old buildings and houses as irrelevant to society as they give myriad benefits to societal origin and cultural preservation.