The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is a rampant issue that is plaguing our society. There had been numerous studies proving that obesity is the cause for many health problems. I personally disagree with introducing more physical education in school. Looking into the weak correlation between a child's education and their health habits, we can deduce the real problem at hand, and I will discuss that in the following paragraphs. Globally, obesity is the cause of death for many people, and as of now, it is starting to become normalised. Obesity may extend to your loved ones including the elderly and children. One solution might be to introduce physical education to put a stop to this problem, but that is not quite adequate. It is not as simple as adding additional weight to our future generations. Educating children may be very complicated indeed, and that is the reason that I disagree. Most children nowadays live a sedentary lifestyle, such as engaging in their social media applications or sitting at home all day playing video games. That is why this issue is much broader than just a school syllabus, but there is a solution to this; we must first educate the parents about unhealthy habits and how to stop the children's addiction to technology. Then, educate the children about how to live a healthy lifestyle. In the end, stopping obesity surely is no simple task, but it will be something that we, as a society. must attempt to cease immediately. To save our future generations and lead them to a more fulfilling and healthier life, it is of paramount importance that we stand together and say no to sedentary lifestyles.