Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Being fluent in English has become a major key to success in our modern day and age which enables people to connect, travel and work together. While learning English is essential, preserving indigenous languages is important to keep people connected to their own culture and backgrounds. In this essay, I will discuss both points and give my opinion. In many countries, English is the second official language and it is a mandatory subject in schools and universities' curriculums. Fluency in English can facilitate better studying and work opportunities. For example, In Saudi Arabia, the Ministry of Education provides scholarships for talented citizens in the most prestigious universities in the US and the UK and one of the requirements is to be fluent in English. Moreover, most companies nowadays have international offices all over the world and international employees who speak different native languages and need to work together in an efficient and productive way. Thus, learning English is a skill which can open various doors for individuals who aspire to become citizens of the world. However, although learning English is essential for academic and professional success, preserving native languages is vital. Local language reflects the local culture and history of its own people which should be passed on from one generation to another to maintain a unique identity. For instance, In Catalonia, Spain the local government has reinforced the importance of learning and using the Catalan language in daily life by using it in governmental offices, schools, shops and the news. Furthermore, In Saudi Arabia, children in the first and second grades take intensive classes in Arabic before starting to study English in the third grade. In conclusion, while learning English is important to become a citizen of the world and ensure opportunities for advanced studies and working internationally, local languages should be protected and collaborative efforts should be implemented by local governments and citizens to preserve them.