Nowadays many students choose to take a year off before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

Nowadays, an increasing number of students prefer to take a year off after finishing high school. Some of them believe that they will gain useful experiences this way. In this essay, I would like to write about the advantages and disadvantages of this approach. I would like to start by writing about the advantages of this idea. First of all, students who are in favour of this idea believe that by taking a gap year before going to university they would be able to find a job during this period which gives them significant hands-on experiences that might help them with their future careers. Moreover, they can save up some money that can be used for their upcoming education. In addition, they can use this period to hang out more with their friends and families or for example, spend their time travelling. Those kinds of activities will give them enough social skills and insight about life and other opportunities as a result, they can make better and more practical decisions. On the other hand, opponents might claim that if students get away from studying and occupy themselves with working and other aspects of life, there is less possibility of going back to school and completing their qualifications. As a result, they will have fewer working options and less chance to get a promotion. Therefore, their life satisfaction will decrease dramatically. Meanwhile, not all the students do something productive during this gap. To conclude, based on what is discussed above, there are obvious benefits and drawbacks to delaying going to university. In my opinion, schools should provide enough information for students to guide them and students should make their decisions eventually based on the aim of their life.