“Prevention is better than cure” Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is contended that the majority of a nation's health expenditure should be allocated to fitness education and initiatives to prevent illness instead of treatment. I strongly agree with this argument because its financial consequence affects people's awareness to stay fit and attempts to prevent illnesses can improve life expectancy. This essay will elaborate on those reasons. First and foremost, a significant cut in government coverage can raise consciousness among citizens in maintaining their physical well-being. This is because they consequently have to pay for their doctor visits and medicines with their own paychecks instead of being covered by the government. In the United States of America, for example, where no solid health insurance is provided by the government, folks will be more likely to protect themselves from common illnesses during the rainy season, like cough and flu, to avoid spending money on medical actions. Therefore, declining the medical consultation budget is paramount to building a healthier society. On the other hand, spreading fitness knowledge and preventive programs is prominent in resolving high mortality levels, particularly in times of crisis. Both the government and its citizens must have a good understanding of the importance of avoiding infections. Countries with better information on a virus outbreak such as COVID-19, for instance Singapore with their strategic prevention programs, tend to establish better strategies to prevent the virus by pressing the death tolls and minimising casualties. Thus, prevention plays a pivotal role in saving many lives compared to merely focusing on treatments. To conclude, there can be no doubt that the lion's share of a country’s budget should be diverted from treatment to health education and preventive programs. I staunchly endorse this view due to its effectiveness of direct consequence towards people impacts their perception to stay healthy as well as prominent illness prevention which has been proven to improve life expectancy.