Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the filed, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a contentious argument over whether athletes can misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are practising their sports well or not. I totally disagree with the statement due to the fact that these athletes should reflect the sports team that they are representing. In this essay, I am going to discuss the reasons why I disagree with this statement. Firstly, professional athletes should have some kind of respect for their fans and rivals, because fans, especially, young ones take their favourite athletes as their role models, and this has some kind of disrespect to their rival. Another reason for believing this is that such athletes make the sports union of the country look weak. To illustrate, in 2004 Steven Gerrard did not shake hands with rival players, which led to a wave of anger in the streets of Liverpool. Most people want him to get fined for being disrespectful to the rivals' team. Secondly, athletes who act wrongly outside or inside the pitch might affect the behaviour of the young kids who take these sportsmen as role models, which will affect the behaviour of these kids when practising the same sport. For example, in England, one of the football players from the second division league made a bad hand gesture, which led to most young fans making the same gesture. In conclusion, I completely disagree that athletes can misbehave outside or inside the pitch, because this might lead to hateful rivalry, and wrong actions of young people who take these athletes as role models. Given this situation, it seems that this phenomenon has spread widely and higher sports union should take action to stop these actions.