Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It can be observed around the world that well-known figures including models and singers are making greater income than those in legislative service in their country. This disparity can be explained by their distinctive sources of income, and in my opinion it is a completely negative development. To begin with, famous people usually make more money thanks to their more diverse income sources. To illustrate, a famed supermodel can make millions of dollars a year by not only participating in fashion shows but also endorsing brands on various social platforms. By contrast, the only income for most lawmakers is the monthly salary from the tight state budget. In fact, politicians are generally banned from cultivating commercial connections with corporations to avoid the abuse of power. This is a testament as to why they have considerably lower income compared to celebrities. In my estimation, the difference in income between celebrities and politicians is discouraging. The first reason is that it represents inequity as governmental officials are those who make more significant social changes. A law enhancing social welfare which affects the lives of millions is certainly more impactful than a song that is made popular by the media. In addition, lower pay for politicians might discourage talented people from applying for governmental organisations, causing a shortage of effective lawmakers. If this shortage prolongs, it can reduce the effectiveness of the state system and the overall development of a country. In conclusion, the fact that celebrities are using multiple channels to increase their wealth while politicians heavily rely on their state-sponsored salary is causing an enormous pay gap between them. However, I consider this trend to be totally unjustifiable as it fails to fairly compensate for the contribution of officials and demotivates productive individuals to join the government. That is why I believe governments should impose a higher income tax on the earnings of famous stars and increase compensation for those who are leading their nation.