Children at secondary school are often taken on visits to museums, zoo and concerts and sometimes even to other countries. What do you think the advantages and disadvantages of such visits are?

At present, with the improvement of education, a variety of trips have been organized for secondary school students to places such as museums, zoos, concerts, and even foreign countries are becoming more common than in the past. From my standpoint, this could bring plenty of benefits but there are also some drawbacks. Coming to the negative side, one of the inherent disadvantages is financial problems. We can easily see that these trips usually cost a certain amount of money. This can be paid normally for families with a stable income or well-off, but for poor families, it can be an obstacle. It can lead to self-embarrassed for those kids. Furthermore, trips will often be organized on a large scale, possibly with the whole school going together. Therefore, the most common mistake that can happen is students losing their group when going sightseeing. Trips often have self-sufficient time, which can also lead to self-injury when students freely play with each other without teacher supervision. On the positive side, there are many benefits that students can get after these trips. The main benefit is the amount of knowledge that the students gain. For example, when students are taken to the war remnants museum, they can see and learn about real artefacts from the past, which contributes to creating interest in history. This is much more interesting than the theoretical books in school. In the case of being taken to the zoo, students are enabled to see a wide range of animals and find out details through daily activities and the behaviours of those species. This is all practical knowledge, it can be receptive and this is not as tedious or heavy going as learning biology at school. Finally, the most important thing is that besides the knowledge, there are memorable experiences and memories with friends from my student days, these are all priceless things. To conclude, taking students on trips still has inherent drawbacks but I believe the positives outweigh the negatives.