Some people think that work is the most important thing in people's lives. Without the success of a career, life will become meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the pivotal role of work of individuals, the question of what the relationship between careers and the meaning of life is has garnered widespread interest. One common perspective that many people, myself, advocate is that work is indeed a fundamental aspect of life and can significantly influence the overall sense of meaning. The bond between the achievement of a career and a sense of fulfilment is not considerable in a few ways. One important reason is that focusing excessively on work can lead to strained relationships and isolation from friends and family. This is because they spend almost all their time on their job promotion and do not have enough quality time to strengthen social bonds and take care of their parents and offspring. In addition to this, success does not always mean good health and happiness, which should not be underestimated. Citizens in Japan, famous for being a giant of the global economy, often face stress due to the excessive workload and working extra hours for a long time. As a result, this nation also is in the top countries having the highest suicide rate in the world. However, there are more reasonable grounds that successful careers play a pivotal role in life. Firstly, when financial stability is taken into account, money helps humans not only secure their livelihoods and provide for their families but also maintain friendships. In the absence of success, people may struggle to meet their basic needs, which can cause conflicts in the family, and in the worst-case scenario result in divorce. Secondly, achievement in work is a chief of financial security as well as a catalyst for personal growth and self-actualization. It means that successful milestones in life are able to push boundaries and assist individuals to evolve continuously, which enables them to achieve a deeper sense of meaning in life. Pham Nhat Vuong, for instance, the CEO of Vingroup, his relentless pursuit of his business passion has pushed him to the limit and fueled his sense of purpose. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, intensive concentrating on work can bring some undesirable impacts but the advantages career achievements bring are far weightier and should be considered central to one’s sense of purpose.