Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The perception of the government’s investment varies in general. Some people affirm that building more roadways is the better option, while others believe that increasing miles of rail tracks are more suitable. In my opinion, the best approach to developing sustainable infrastructure is to increase the availability of railways as they have more positive impacts than the former stance. Constructing rail-based transportation in urban areas that connect residential areas to commercial or industrial zones is proven to be the solution for better public transportation. The passengers could have options to travel faster and cheaper than using individual vehicles. The authorities could even structure an integration system with other public transportation to achieve a level of reliability and seamless mobility, as evidenced in London, United Kingdom. The result of this improvement is modal shifting from private cars to public modes. This shift could reduce many problems that happen when the government priority road construction above train infrastructure. Fewer cars in the street mean congestion reduction, thus improving travel time, reducing air pollution, and decreasing the demand for fuel consumption. Indonesia is one of the countries where emission problems increased from time to time because of high demands for private modes, while Singapore maintained its rail-based integration with effects including lower carbon production and a healthier population. In conclusion, the stakeholders should introduce more railroad investment rather than roads. There are more positive impacts gained by this option and the choice could lead to a more walkable city and seamless integration of public transport.