Online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of the Internet and communications technology, more and more individuals are resorting to Internet shopping than physical shopping. While this practice offers extreme convenience, I opine that it adversely impacts local entrepreneurs. On the one hand, I am certain that stores being replaced by online shops benefit the public in many ways. Specifically, it is quicker and cheaper to shop online than in physical stores. Shopping at home, people no longer need to drive for hours and spend on parking, toll tickets, and gas just to get to the nearest malls. By shopping online, people can just stay at home and avoid such unnecessary expenses. In fact, most shopping applications such as Amazon and AliExpress offer not only highly discounted items but also free shipping, which helps consumers save greater costs. On the other hand, I do not deny that online shopping can be absolutely detrimental to local businesses. In particular, with the surge in online buyers, physical stores lose their hard-earned customers and, thereafter, go bankrupt. We have actually seen this trend during this time of pandemic when all business establishments had to shut down and all people must stay at home and shop electronically. The COVID-19 pandemic has truly accelerated the fall of a large group of retailers, who have been fighting for dwindling sales and growing debt over the years. Sadly, individuals have gotten so used to shopping online that they much prefer it now to physical buying even when malls have started to re-open. In conclusion, I concur that online buying replacing shopping in physical stores is both a positive and negative development considering convenience and business bankruptcy, respectively.