Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reason for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is said that these days, several individuals spend a sizeable amount of their spare time on their smartphones. I think that a lack of public awareness and having a hectic schedule are the main reasons for the present situation. Moreover, in my opinion, the negative effects of this behaviour can override its positives. It is my view that nowadays most people utilize social media and online platforms to keep in touch with their families and friends. People have a tight schedule and they have to meet several deadlines; therefore, they are willing to have a virtual relationship in their free time instead of face-to-face meetings, which can be problematic due to traffic jams in our modern lives. In other words, people prefer to have virtual communication because it is more convenient and time -saving. Another reason is the fact that most people are oblivious to the health risks of spending too much time on such digital devices. In this regard, research findings confirm that these people are more likely to suffer from depression as they compare their lives with others. Were persons aware of the issues that they will face, they could think twice and change their minds. I further believe that excessive use of smartphones, which is common nowadays, can lead to several problems. Firstly, if people indulge in such technology, it may lead to a sedentary lifestyle and obesity. Obesity is the main cause of heart attacks. Although cell phones are an integral part of our modern lifestyle, we should not replace doing exercise in our spare time with playing or chatting with them. For instance, my brother, who had been using his tablet too much, suffers from spinal problems. Conversely, people should be encouraged to work out or spend some quality time with their families, which offers numerous benefits, such as creating a close-knit family. To conclude, in my perspective, individuals' awareness about the consequences of their behaviour and their heavy workloads plays a significant role in dedicating a large part of their free time to smartphones. Furthermore, these kinds of activities can lead to serious health issues.