Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travelling to foreign countries for pleasure has sparked a debate in recent times. Some may argue that this may cause more harm to their various destination. I disagree with this opinion, and I will discuss concisely in this essay. On the one hand, travelling to a foreign country for vacation has some health benefits. Progressively, people travel to relax after long periods of work during the year. In recent studies conducted in 2025, taking a vacation twice a year has been shown to greatly reduce the stress levels of middle-aged business owners and employees. Additionally, this gives them more time to bond with their friends and partners, and also to build stronger relationships with their kids. For example, a businessman who barely has time for his kids, would be delighted to make up for lost time with frequent vacations taken. Furthermore, travelling to a foreign country for pleasure serves as a tourism opportunity for the visiting families. Moreover, they get to explore the diverse cultures of these countries, learn foreign languages and their histories, and experience life from a different viewpoint entirely. Overall, it serves for cultural revitalisation. On the other hand, these aeroplane travels may lead to an increase in the emission of carbon, which results in a surge in the greenhouse effect. Recent studies on the leading cause of global warming conclude that aviation alone accounts for 8% of the burning of fossil fuel worldwide. However, this can be tackled by the re-invention of aeroplane designs and tactical travel plans. Conversely, aeroplanes should be constructed with much lighter metals so as to reduce the excessive consumption of fossil fuel, whereas travel should be made to one direct location without making stops at different countries so as to greatly reduce the amount of carbon combustion. To conclude, travelling for pleasure may have its drawbacks, but it has more benefits, which I believe can be favourable to the lives of so many individuals.