More and more people are seriously overweight. Some people suggest the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of individuals who have obesity. Some assert that it can be solved by making fattening food prices higher. Nonetheless, I completely disagree with that statement due to reasons that will be discussed in the following paragraph. To begin with, the root cause of the overweight phenomenon is lifestyle. Despite the high cost of high-calorie foods, their loyal consumers still purchase them. For example, steak cuisine has a variety of standards; it can be served in a low-priced restaurant or in a luxurious restaurant. Regardless of the price, restaurants of both types are still busy. Thus, we need another way to change people’s diets. The government can take action by providing a campaign of healthy foods that will be promoted by a celebrity chef. The message in the campaign could be: “Low-calorie food is still delicious." Besides that, high-calorie food is not always bad, though. People with intense activity need plenty of calories to stay energised. As long as the amount of calories in is not higher than the amount of calories out, they will not gain fat. In this case, a special campaign can be conducted by emphasising calorie-burning activities, such as walking and running, especially for people who have less intensity in their daily activities. By doing this, they can still eat fatty foods with the note that they pay attention to their workout. To sum up, increasing the price of fatty foods is not a solution. Instead, the government can support obese people by conducting campaigns for them to switch to healthy meals and encourage them to work out on a daily basis.