Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, one of the major problems facing the modern world is the issue of crime. Some individuals hold the view that a constant sentence should be assigned to each felony, while others think that the situation and stimulants that cause guilt should be considered. In this essay, I will look at both sides, and give my opinion. First, nowadays, crime figures are rising at an alarming rate. Thus, this is a vital issue that should be addressed. One thing about crime issue is about punishment. It is argued that each crime should have a certain sentence. So, in this way, the accused is aware of the consequences of his or her offence, leading to a reduction in the number of crimes committed. Furthermore, in a court of law, it is much more convenient for the jury to bring justice and deliver the verdict. On the other hand, Not all crimes are committed under the same situation. Since, committing a crime can be affected by a variety of factors, such as mental health, poverty, the circumstances that the accused is brought up in it, and so on. For example, in countries with poor economies, the crime rate is significantly higher than in others, especially in the case of shoplifters. Another issue is that many people commit a crime unintentionally. These people are, in fact, innocent and this issue should be considered. In conclusion, there are different views about whether stable punishment should be considered for each type of crime or whether the intention and circumstance that lead to a crime, also, should be taken into account. I strongly agree with the second argument, because of my reasons that are mentioned above.