Advertising has become part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising has a positive impact on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that advertising plays an integral part in our daily lives, bringing along with it benefits for society as a whole. Personally, I can neither agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that advertising has a positive impact on our lives. One of the main reasons for this is how advertising provides information to the public, allowing us as consumers to have a wider range of choices of products to consume. Providing the mass population with detailed info on each good they can possibly purchase, allows consumers to make a rational decision for themselves after weighing what they lose and gain from this. This not only respects consumer rights but promotes merit goods consumption which provides positive externalities for society. For example, a case study by Harvard Business School has shown that after a successful marketing campaign for vegetables and healthy eating, the obesity rate in America has dropped by 10%, reducing pressure on healthcare services in the country. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that advertising has a positive impact on our daily lives. This is because advertising can manipulate people's behaviours to benefit a third party. With the rise of huge tech companies, social media have become a huge part of our lives and as such the amount of data these companies have on us is monstrous. Through the analysis of this data, these firms can sell our personal info to advertisers, allowing them to design advertisements that directly target us. Due to this, we essentially get controlled by the ads and make irrational choices which may impact our lives later on. As an example, research from Johns Hopkins University pointed out that with the data provided by tech companies, advertisement becomes 3 times more effective at persuading consumers than before. In conclusion, although advertisements do have their benefits as they provide consumers with the freedom of choice, I'm convinced that in this modern day of technology, advertisements are specifically designed to manipulate our actions without our consent, harming the world in the process.