Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today, the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem?

In this day and age, limited freshwater resources have been a severe problem in several parts of the globe. However, this has become a global issue due to the skyrocketing demand for these precious springs of water. The following essay is going to discuss the causes of this escalating demand, as well as the measures governments and individuals could take to tackle this situation. First and foremost, the prominent reason that could lead to the increasing need for freshwater is the exponential population growth. This is due to the fact that nowadays a lot of people flock to metropolises and big cities, thus leading to the demand for freshwater going up diagonally, while the infrastructure is not designed to provide and distribute water to that huge number of individuals. Taking Hanoi as an example, in just a short span of three months, citizens of some districts have experienced two water shortage periods, and have to rely on distant sources to use in their daily lives. Furthermore, pollution also adds to the severity of this problem. Simply put, many companies would recklessly pour industrial waste directly into the environment without any process to remove the toxic materials to cut costs. Taking Formosa as an example, in 2016, this company discharged unprocessed waste into the river, thus polluting the river, which was the main water source of a nearby village. To tackle this situation, both governments and individuals should take action in response. To start with, the government should issue a number of laws and regulations relating to the process of treatment of wastewater, while also strictly supervising these processes and enforcing these laws on enterprises and companies. The authorities should also impose penalties on any entities that fail to adhere to the laws to prevent future violations. Moreover, citizens should also be aware of their contribution to keeping water springs clean, as even the slightest action conducted by the masses could tremendously benefit the environment.Taking throwing trash as an example, only by throwing waste in the right place instead of the river, individuals are contributing to saving the planet. Last but not least, people should be educated to raise public awareness about this problem. For instance, cities can release a number of campaigns, in which citizens need to participate to clean local rivers, lakes, or wells. In conclusion, the rarity of fresh and clean water foundations has become a huge issue due to pollution and the growth of population in several regions. However, there are some methods that could be employed to solve this situation, such as the publication of regulations, as well as raising public awareness regarding this dilemma.