A recent survey shows that in many countries across the world people are generally living longer. But an increased life expectancy has many implications for the aging individuals and for the society as a whole. What are the possible effects of a longer life expectancy on individuals and the society?

With the rapid development of the healthcare system, life expectancy is consistently growing. Although the rise of longevity is certainly a testament to human progress, it also presents an opportunity and challenge to both individuals and society. For individuals, living longer offers a chance to experience more stuff. For instance, people can travel around the world after they retire. Also, the expansion of living time allows folks to pursue their passion and dreams, that they might not have had the time in the past. However, there might be some disadvantages to living longer for a person. With increased age, some mental health problems and illnesses occur, and this makes people struggle every day. Furthermore, their family will need to cost more to take care of them. Such as surgery and caretaker fees. From the societal perspective, many new industries appear due to the growth of the elderly, in hence the students will get more choices after they graduate. In addition, society can benefit from the experience and wisdom provided by the elder citizens. On the negative side, the heavily aging population places strain on public service, especially the healthcare system might be burdened by the huge utilization from the elders. Furthermore, in Taiwan, health insurance is going to be overloaded, actually it is in debt now. In conclusion, while increased life expectancy is an achievement worth celebrating, there are multifaceted implications for the community. Balancing both cons and pros is vital, effort must be ensured that living longer doesn’t only mean adding years to life but also adding life to years.