The opinion exists that old buildings should be demolished to make way for modern structures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that former houses should be taken down to build new modern structures. I totally agree with this statement as an old building can be a hidden danger to the community and there is limited free land for new buildings in the city. To begin with, vintage structures may be a possible threat to the local area. In the past, there were no modern building materials such as concrete or steel supports. Buildings are built in wooden planks and bricks which are not as strong as their modern counterparts. So after decades of wind and rain, there may be cracks inside the pillars and walls, which result in a high risk of the whole building falling apart. Moreover, the outdated floor designs may not satisfy modern regulations. For instance, most historic buildings do not have fire alarms installed, meaning it is hard to evacuate people when there is a fire. These outdated properties of an old building may not only cause serious problems to the structure itself, but also affect the nearby buildings as well. Moreover, there is not enough free land for building new structures in the city. When the city centre is already occupied by different kinds of buildings, it is hard to find the place to squeeze a new one in. When there is a need for modern infrastructure such as a subway station inside the city, the only way to find space for it is to demolish existing buildings. As old buildings often do not offer public uses like hospitals or schools do, it is the best choice to replace them with modern buildings. After all, urban development is essential for a city to keep up with time, and old buildings are the cheapest price that has to be paid. In conclusion, as there are potential dangers from old buildings, and limited empty spaces for city development, the government should demolish old structures to make room for the modern ones.