In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is it a negative or positive development?

In these days and ages, residents in some countries tend to adopt Western garments such as suits and jeans rather than conventional clothes. I believe this is a positive improvement due to some reasons I will share in this essay. Firstly, embracing Western clothes signifies a country’s desire to modernize and integrate into the global community. Having said that, it reflects an openness to new ideas, new technologies, economic development and culture exchange. Western fashion including suits and jeans shows a significant global influence due to the dominance of Western brands, therefore, many countries want to align with this global trend as a symbol of being updated and the hope to access international markets which results in improvement of global transactions. As a result, getting into Western garments indicates open-minded perceptions and readiness in some countries associated with social and economic development. Secondly, Western clothes are often designed for comfort and practicality. In other words, they can be more suited to certain climates, lifestyles and activities, providing ease of movement and durability, contributing to daily functionality and convenience. Although traditional clothing serves individuals well with basic purposes such as covering and warming bodies, jeans are more adopted due to their various functions involving fitting to go to school or being suitable to hang out with friends. For example, according to a survey conducted by the Arts University, about 90% of teenagers consider Jeans as their first choice as opposed to traditional trousers because of their flexibility. In conclusion, Western clothing adoption which happens in some parts of the world indicates merits related to national stuff and its practicality in daily life. It is predicted that this type of garment will be more and more popular in the next generation.