Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Outer space has always been a great mystery that triggered people's curiosity and pushed them to learn and discover more about plants and possibly other alien life forms. Nowadays, Most countries have national space programs and some citizens find that spending public funds on these programs is pointless and this money should be used for more important national projects. I strongly believe that countries should always invest in all forms of scientific advancement including space discovery and travel. Most governments invest in technologies that could change their political strength and position among other nations such as nuclear energy and space exploration programs. For instance, the US and the Soviet Union in the '70s were competing to display their dominance in different ways including controlling financial markets and having the latest advancements in technology and military forces which included building space stations and preparing for the first human expedition to the moon which later on the US succeeded to do so and sent the first expedition. As a result, this dispute on power eventually ended with the fall of the Soviet Union and declared the US as the most advanced and strongest country. Moreover, human beings have an endless curiosity and thirst for knowledge and they desire to build a memorable legacy to leave behind as the Egyptians did when they built the pyramids thousands of years ago. Outer space is still uncharted territory and so many mysteries about it need to be discovered which might be useful for the future of the human race. For instance, Space X is a private institution for space and is planning for the first human colony on Mars. Furthermore, Given the rapid changes in our planet's climate, discovering a new planet that can support life on it would be a groundbreaking discovery that would change our future. In conclusion, Astronomy is a field of science that holds great potential for the human race. Thus, governments should invest in space exploration and travelling.