The increasing presence of multinational companies and globalization is believed by some to have positive implications for everyone involved. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some agree that the activities of large multinational corporations are of great benefit to the economies of developing countries. On the other hand, others have a different view and consider these industries to be dangerous. The explanation of these claims and my personal opinion on the situation will be elaborated in this article. Multinational companies such as Unilever and Shopee have been assisting countries in meeting the needs of their communities. For example, the famous Samsung Group has provided smartphones to the masses, thereby increasing productivity in the workplace. Additionally, international organizations can serve as an inspiration for local people to establish similar businesses. For instance, Gojek is an adaptation of Grab, which was already operational in a different country. In addition, the company is increasingly motivated to compete with its predecessor since it can modify its models to suit Indonesian preferences. However, they can also cause some trouble, namely: the death of local products and damage to the environment. Their activities in the country can hamper small business profits. For example, Starbucks Coffee has always dominated the coffee shop competition, which has limited the growth of small businesses like Kopi Kenangan. Additionally, they may cause natural disasters somewhere because they are often not responsible for their waste management systems. All in all, I believe that we should prioritize the development of our people by utilizing the positive outcomes of multinational corporations. Nevertheless, we must regulate them by formulating strict policies to reduce their negative impacts.