Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. Agree or disagree?

Some argue that voluntary work should be added to the high school curriculum as a mandatory service. I firmly agree with this proposal, since it would enhance students' skills in their personal and professional lives. However, I believe that these programmes must be strategically designed to prevent wasting students' time. There are various reasons that powerfully indicate this approach is efficient. To begin, these activities offer unique opportunities, which contribute to young people shaping their personalities and recognising their civic responsibilities. Moreover, engaging in these programs promotes their skills, including critical thinking, leadership, communication, and teamwork, all of which contribute to development not only in their future lives but also in society. As an example, research shows that people who have participated in social activities demonstrated valuable traits, which have helped them make progress and achieve high positions in their careers. Hence, this proposal empowers participants in various aspects of their lives, enabling them to become more successful. On the other hand, there are some challenges that reduce the effectiveness of the proposal. To begin, high school is a golden period for students, when they determine their life paths. If there are no efficient plans, it could cause mental issues such as stress, since they waste their study time. For instance, Basij in Iran is a voluntary organisation dedicated to resolving social challenges. Nevertheless, due to its poor management, parents do not tend to allow their children to participate in its activities. Thus, meticulous planning plays a crucial role in the program's efficiency. To sum up, from my vantage point, although there exist some problems that can be resolved, the proposal transcends barriers of failure and success in individuals' personal and professional lives and lays a strong foundation for them to develop their society.