In many countries, people are deciding to have children at a later age than in the past. Why? Advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In these days and ages, in some nations, residents have changed their minds when choosing to have offspring at a later age compared to the past. This essay will find out the reasons and clarify why the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Firstly, when life costs increase, people decide to shift their priority from starting a family to establishing financial security which helps them to pay off basic needs including housing, food, transportation and healthcare services. Secondly, whereas women in the past were attributed as ones taking on roles of giving birth at the “right age”, this perception now has changed. In other words, females opt to pursue their careers, and personal goals and seek gender equality leading to a delay in starting a family. For example, a study conducted by the Demographic paper revealed that 7 in 10 women aged 30 – 35 said that they would not be ready to become moms unless they achieved their professional aspirations. Despite the aforementioned grounds, it is undeniable that raising children at a later age has some disadvantages excelling advantages. On the one hand, having offspring when getting older that individuals achieve financial stability and a strong financial foundation facilitating them to create a better environment for adolescents’ development and growth. It means that, their babies can join private schools with advanced education systems, resulting in positive performance which contributes to a qualified national workforce. On the other hand, giving birth late might cause some consequences related to children’s physical and mental health. Furthermore, it may result in a huge generation gap between parents and their sons or daughters, who are prone to be influenced by outside factors such as social media. As a result, parents need to talk to them regularly to provide appropriate guidance and advice helping to steer them from negative factors which older parents might struggle to solve. In conclusion, although selecting to have offspring at a later stage in life is based on reasonable factors such as establishing strong financial backgrounds, it has some detrimental effects on children’s lives which outweigh the positive aspects. It is predicted that if governments have appropriate assistance in raising children, communities will re-consider giving birth at a more suitable age due to the decrease in childcare burdens.