Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this? What can be done to attract local people?

A large number of museums and historical sites are not visited by the local population instead of tourists from other places. However, the root causes of this phenomenon are multifaceted, and there are also ways to appeal to the local public. This essay will explore the reasons and propose possible methods. In this neoliberal society, tourism has become the majority of income in numerous places. It is widely agreed that most people often choose museums or meaningful remains as their destination when they take a trip. One of the most significant factors is cultural exchange because it is the fastest way to understand and experience local life, while locals have already become accustomed to those ancient buildings or traditional arts. Furthermore, what is also obvious is that exploring an unknown world is undoubtedly exciting but this motivation can not stimulate local people. As a consequence, people coming from other areas are always full of passion for visiting attractions, which can complement their curiosity, and the locals are not. On the other hand, there are also some ways that can make local people emphasize their own cultural assets. One of the means is to combine with technology. With the advancement of nowadays progress, we can harness the internet or wearable devices to vary visitors' experience including an interactive guide or virtual reality. These innovative manners can increase the novel feeling of the local population and ignite their curiosity. In conclusion, it is evident that local people seldom visit tourist spots in their hometowns because of the lack of novelty. From my perspective, it is essential to promote additional stimulation to raise the passion toward their own cultural assets.