is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views and give tour opinioIt n

In this contemporary era, whereas some proponents believe that criminals deserve the death penalty due to their deleterious and harmful impact on their communities, opponents and I adopt a diverse view, as many offenders need psychological therapy, not death, and the life-long deterrent is a better option. To embark on, the vast majority of dangerous people could do harm to other inmates or themselves if they are still alive. In other words, a myriad of individuals are of the belief that if a person was able to commit a crime at one point in his life, then, due to the appealing circumstances in jail, the possibility of repeating his deeds will be extremely high. As a result, the prison population who has dangerous criminal records such as murder should be punished with the death penalty to protect society from them. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists in Abu-Ghreb prison who claimed two out of five murderers had killed another jailed or committed suicide as soon as they entered the jail. What can be said here is that the due deterrent for killers or dangerous criminal persons is the death penalty because otherwise, other inmates will come under threat of death. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned point, I can argue that for some jailers jail will be a second opportunity to live a respectful life. To illustrate, there is a considerable number of psychological illnesses that have a direct impact on the behaviours of an individual and force him to do harmful deeds. Additionally, some of these mental disturbances might become undiagnosed for a certain period. Eventually, that person will become vulnerable to committing crimes unconsciously. Thus, for those individuals, the life-long deterrent under the supervision of a well-trained therapist will be a better option. For example, Dahmer the most famous murderer in the 21st century, after a prolonged investigation, the court came to the conclusion that he was suffering from a childhood trauma that affected his mentally. Then, they decided to give him a second chance with the long-life deterrent and constant mental therapy, after a certain period, he became a writer and wrote his own story and he is still alive today. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, I can assume that although many jailers might be more susceptible to committing dangerous offences and they deserve the death penalty to preserve society, some of them could be under the direct impact of a misdiagnosed psychosis that affects their attitudes negatively; henceforth, I believe the long-life deterrent is the punishment of choice in specific situations.