University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree

The argument against university students is that they should only specialise in one area. Others, however, believe learning a wide range of subjects is necessarily required in modern society. From my perspective, I strongly agree with the viewpoint that students should know more subjects due to the growing competitiveness of the job market and the advantages of a holistic education. It is acknowledged that specializing in one particular subject can alleviate the burden on university students as they can only focus their efforts on a single area and have more time to relax; but, in the long run, it is not conducive to personal development. For instance, a student exclusively studying mathematics could excel in data analysis but may lack the creative and communication skills, which potentially limits their ability to address complicated problems from different angles and collaborate effectively in diverse teams. However, the situation would be different if they could know about other subjects like art or literacy, providing a more holistic perspective to approach challenges. Therefore, studying various subjects is necessary. On the one hand, learning a range of subjects can prepare university students for employment, which makes them have better prospects. It is self-evident that employers tend to recruit candidates who are experts in different fields to maximise their potential. For example, a student who studies both biology and computer science can enhance their employability since some pharmacy companies increasingly require professionals with a blend of knowledge of these two fields to develop cutting-edge medicine. On the other hand, learning a variety of subjects helps educate the whole person by teaching them different ways of thinking and showing how everything is connected. This broad knowledge prepares individuals to handle more challenging tasks. In conclusion, the group who had acquired knowledge in more than one area of specialisation are more advantageous than those who would have studied a specialisation. Hence, I would strongly agree that universities must encourage students to learn a range of subjects.