Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

The importance of assigning homework to children by teachers which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. In my opinion, the latter proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will further discuss both views and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. There are myriad benefits of giving homework to school children but the most preponderant one is that it makes a student hardworking and develops the concentration in studies. Another pivotal benefit is that it encourages independent learning and problem-solving, as children are challenged to work through tasks alone and at their own pace. So they learn to be self-dependent and creative enough to solve problems creatively. Needless to say, all these merits stand in good stead. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments but one of the most alarming ones is that homework is considered a burden due to which children start developing repulsion towards their studies. Besides, long sitting hours cause obesity and they also lose interest in outdoor sports. Moreover, the level of boredom creates monotony and children start avoiding their studies. Hence, it is apparent why many are against giving homework to students. In conclusion, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the benefits of homework are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.