Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that learning about history only gives small takeaways because it has different situations. However, this essay agrees with the opposite belief which is lessons learned from past experiences are important because they will inspire a better choice in the present. For some people, history is perceived to have a little lesson for today’s life because of the different conditions between the past and the present. This is because with the advancement of technology, there are new factors that did not exist in the past but it has a great influence these days. For example, back in the past, marketing strategies such as advertising a new product through TV would bring huge amounts of sales. However, with the rise of social media, many people prefer to rely on the public’s reviews on the new products rather than the brand’s claims on the TV. The old marketing technique will not result in the same number anymore and the brands should shift their strategy to align with the market behaviour. Even though this specific phenomenon is different, this essay thinks that for general aspects, it is still necessary to learn about history. On the other hand, learning historical events will enlighten people about similar situations that have happened in the past. This will allow folks to weigh on any possible way to resolve today’s issues based on the successful history. For instance, the growing inflation in the US that seemingly will keep climbing over time can be tackled by increasing the saving interest rates. This measure is being taken by the Federal Reserve because many historical events have shown that this was the most effective way to slow down inflation. The same condition had happened in 2008 and some before that and it was proven that it worked many times. For these reasons, this essay believes that for more general issues, learning history has a lot of important information to serve better decisions. In conclusion, although some history has lost relevance with today’s life, some big history that has proven to be effective in resolving issues still serves a greater benefit to human life.