Some people believe that we should not use animals as testing materials for human beings because this is too cruel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people agrees that using animals as testing materials for human is brutal, while others think it is evitable since human is at the top of the food chain. In my opinion, we should not make this into a black and white issue. On the one hand, many animals as testing materials suffer severe pains from human activities whether intentional or unintentional. Unfortunately, few people are concerned about their living conditions, let alone their welfare. These animals are forced to travel thousands of miles in cramped conditions, frequently end up being both physically and mentally ill, which is indeed cruel. Moreover, in some cases, animal tests are unnecessary at all such as cosmetics and chemicals. Additionally, the true value of using animals in experiments for human is questionable, as there may be huge differences biologically and physically between human and animals. On the other hand, taking advantage of animals in medical testing for human is reasonable, which plays a key role in scientific research of medical development. Human beings do live at the top of the food chain, which means that our life and health are more important than animals’ to some extent. For example, students in medical school need to practice their surgical skills on animals before doing a surgery directly on human bodies. Otherwise, a tiny mistake or neglect could lead to an irreversible tragedy. This is also to protect our own lives. In conclusion, although animal tests in some cases are inevitable, we should show our compassion to animals and look for more ethical and advanced methods to keep sustainable developments not only for ourselves but also for our furry friends