In recent year there has been a surge in the popularity of electrical vehicles(EV's). What are the advantages and disadvantages of electric vehicles. Discuss and provide examples.

From past few years there has been an increase in demand of vehicles which are powered by batteries and in this essay we will discuss the potential benefits and drawback of the same. On the positive side, automobile running on batteries are more environment friendly. Electrical vehicle uses electricity stored the batteries attached to that vehicle which leads to numerous benefit to the environment, ranging from zero carbon emission, negligible noise generated by the engines to less dependency on gas. Another advantage is, electrical vehicles are more economical. As to run any vehicle, energy is required and as compare to fossil fuels namely petrol, diesel, natural gas; electricity saved in the cells are the cheapest source of energy. Furthermore, maintenance cost of automobile running on electricity is also less which makes them pocket friendly to the consumers. For instance, As per report published by leading vehicle manufacturer of western countries, by adopting electrical vehicles people can save forty per cent more money on their travel expenses. On the contrary, lack of sufficient infrastructure is the major disadvantage of using electric automobile. We already have a planned infrastructure for the conventional automobile but for vehicles running on power we are lacking behind which possesses a major disadvantage for the people to adopt this change. Another cons is, electrical vehicle covers a shorter distance. Due to small capacity of the cells used in the electric vehicles they cannot travel a longer distance and further, people need to wait for longer duration so that there automobile are charged fully. To illustrate, from last few years it is been observed that due to lack of mandatory infrastructure for electric vehicle, sale of conventional automobile have increased by fifty percent. In conclusion, vehicles running on power posses numerous disadvantages like non availability of infrastructure and short range of automobile. But, slowly it will gain more popularity due to its advantages namely, environment friendly and pocket friendly to the customers.